Indigenous Cultural Communities/Indigenous Peoples (IPs/ICCs) - refer to a group of people or homogeneous societies identified by self-ascription and ascription by others, who have continuously lived as organized community on communally bounded and defined territory, and who have, under claims of ownership since time immemorial, occupied, possessed and utilized such territories, sharing common bonds of language, customs, traditions and other distinctive cultural traits, or who have, through resistance to political, social and cultural inroads of colonization, non-indigenous religions and cultures, became historically differentiated from the majority of Filipinos. ICCs/IPs shall likewise include peoples who are regarded as indigenous on account of their descent from the populations which inhabited the country, at the time of conquest or colonization, or at the time of inroads of non-indigenous religions and cultures, or the establishment of present state boundaries, who retain some or all of their own social, economic, cultural and political institutions, but who may have been displaced from their traditional domains or who may have resettled outside their ancestral domains. (Section 3, IPRA)


12 Major Ethnolinguistic Groups in the Cordillera Administrative Region

Ethnolinguistic Groups

Where Majority of the Tribes are Found/Place of Origin


Western municipalities of Mt. Province: (Sagada, Besao, Bauko, Sabangan, Parts of Tadian)

BALANGAO  (sometimes known as Baliwon)

Eastern municipalities of Mt. Province: (Barlig,  Natonin,  Parts of Paracelis)


Central municipalities of Mt. Province: (Bontoc,  Sadanga)


West-north municipalities of Benguet: (Parts of Atok,  Bakun,  Buguias,  Itogon,  Kapangan,  Kibungan,  Mankayan,  Tublay);

Boundary parts of Bauko, Mt. Province

IWAK (sometimes known as Iowak, Owak)

Small parts of Itogon, Benguet


Barangays of Bokod, Benguet:  ( Karao,  Ekip )


Benguet municipalities: ( Parts of Atok, Bokod,  Itogon,   Kabayan,  Kapangan,    La Trinidad,   Sablan,   Tuba,   Tublay);

Baguio City  (Happy Hallow)


Ifugao municipalities:   (Asipulo,  Tinoc)

Benguet:  (Parts of Buguias,  Northern parts of Kabayan)


Generally Ifugao province


(sometimes known as Isneg or Apayao)

Generally Apayao province


Generally Kalinga province


(sometimes known as Itneg)

Most Eastern and Capital municipalities of Abra:  (Boliney, Bucloc, Daguioman, Danglas, Dolores, Lacub, Lagangilang, Lagayan, Langiden, Licuan-Baay, Luba, Malibcong, Manabo, Pennarubia, Pilar , Sallapadan, San Isidro, San Juan, San Quintin, Tineg, Tubo, Villaviciosa)

NOTE: These are the ICCs that are currently formally recognized by the NCIP.





Tuesday the 22nd. Copyright 2016
Copyright 2012